What a Blessing People Can Be

My God is good, and He works in cool ways, but the coolest way I’ve seen Him work, is through other people. I know He’s God. I know He’s great, and can do anything because, well He’s God. People on the other hand are unpredictable and tend to be packed with flaws and an inherent self centeredness– or so I often (unfortunately) think. I think this overly negative perception I have of others is why God has blessed me with such caring people in my life. I also think that’s why He moved me one step closer to returning to BU with the incredible generosity of one of my mother’s childhood friends. Perhaps “incredible generosity” is even an understatement. I don’t know what else to call it when your mother touches base with an old friend and talks about exactly what has been going on in her life only for her friend to encourage with words shortly before hanging up. Said hang up was followed up with a call back where her friend simply stated “I wanna help.” I literally cried when I heard that.

I’ve been hurt by so many people in my life; that coupled with the fact that I’m a Jesus Freak make it easy for me to forget how caring people really can be. And well, one event after another, God has been showing me that He can, and will provide for me in amazing ways, but at the same time, I need to know that it’s okay to believe in other people, as well. God has blessed my life with people that care for me more than I deserve. They don’t care because they have to; they care because they choose to; because they choose to put others first, and to show love however they can in whatever means they have available. So, Humans, I thank you.

Leave a Reply

