Day 2

Day 2 of my 21 day fast from my night owl ways to draw closer to The Lord.

My life is less than glamorous. My financial situation isn’t great; my family takes dysfunctional to new levels; I don’t know how to style my hair to make it look nice since I cut it off and I often feel like an outsider. (Excuse the random nature of this list. It’s merely the result of heartfelt words that are written in a hurry…)

Anyway, while some of these are foolish first world pains, they all bother me on occasion and I can be quite the complainer, which is perhaps the biggest problem of them all: I’m an ingrate.

“Enter His gates with thanksgiving; and into His courts with praise: be thankful unto Him, and bless His name.” -Psalm 100:4

I’d be lying if I said this was the mindset I entered my times with God with. I usually tell Him thanks for the day, but shortly after I start to ask Him for a million and one things. Don’t get me wrong, asking God for things is fine, but sometimes we need to take a step back and stop asking so we can start thanking.

My boyfriend suggested this to me a few days ago and after coming to God today doing just that I see how freeing and joyous it is. I looked at every situation around me that I’d usually ask Him to change and instead I thanked Him for the good that has risen out of each bad.

So since I’ve publicly listed some of my complaints, I’ll now publicly list some of my praise:
1) I thank God for a family that cares deeply for me.
2) I thank God for a healthy head of hair.
3) I thank God for His provision in spite of my frugality, occasional irresponsible spending and guilt-inspired giving.
4) I thank God for using my uniqueness aka strangeness to reach out to those who are soft spoken.

When you search for the good in each bad, you come up with beautiful silver linings.

Leave a Reply

